In the Blood by R.L. Martinez


27689746This book really grabbed me from the beginning. It’s not often you start a book with one of the main characters being in prison.

Ottilde Dominax is a warrior for her country, yet a hated prisoner because she killed the prince heir. She lives day to day fearing for her life and hoping for reprieve. When she dreams that her twin sister Oriabel’s life is in danger, she must devise an escape plan.

Oriabel Dominax is a healer with the hidden secret of being witchborn. As newcomers descend on Oriabel’s village she struggles to keep her witch magic a secret but when a new lord is sent to preside over her family’s estate her life hangs in the balance.

Perfect for fans of Juliet Marrillier, this book is magical and spellbinding. A very quick and immensely enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read the second installment.

I want to thank the publisher (Lakewater Press) for providing me with the ARC through Netgalley for an honest review.

 small ghostsmall ghostsmall ghostsmall ghostsmall ghost

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Letters&Poetry

World writers community

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

Bookishdiana

Violent delights have violent ends

Moohnshine's Corner

"I like nonesense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living." Dr Seuss

littlepandareads

Read, Draw, Review

Love Books Group

Books | Events | Blogger

Hardkover

Where Books Get Reviewed

booksaremycwtches

Reading takes me to other worlds. Other times and other places.

What Cathy Read Next...

For book lovers everywhere

Young at Heart Books

Eat. Sleep. Read. And review YA books.

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

neverimitate

Trying to avoid society's pigeonholes

Letters&Poetry

World writers community

Alysha Kaye

A writer trying to teach becomes a teacher trying to write

Bookishdiana

Violent delights have violent ends

Moohnshine's Corner

"I like nonesense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living." Dr Seuss

littlepandareads

Read, Draw, Review

Love Books Group

Books | Events | Blogger

Hardkover

Where Books Get Reviewed

booksaremycwtches

Reading takes me to other worlds. Other times and other places.

What Cathy Read Next...

For book lovers everywhere

Young at Heart Books

Eat. Sleep. Read. And review YA books.

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Insomniac Seeks Good Books for Night-time Adventures

neverimitate

Trying to avoid society's pigeonholes

Kristin's Novel Cafe

Sharing my love of books, one cup of coffee at a time

BrizzleLass Books

Fantasy and Romance Book Reviews, Blog Tours, Interviews & Giveaways.

%d bloggers like this: