In the Blood by R.L. Martinez


27689746This book really grabbed me from the beginning. It’s not often you start a book with one of the main characters being in prison.

Ottilde Dominax is a warrior for her country, yet a hated prisoner because she killed the prince heir. She lives day to day fearing for her life and hoping for reprieve. When she dreams that her twin sister Oriabel’s life is in danger, she must devise an escape plan.

Oriabel Dominax is a healer with the hidden secret of being witchborn. As newcomers descend on Oriabel’s village she struggles to keep her witch magic a secret but when a new lord is sent to preside over her family’s estate her life hangs in the balance.

Perfect for fans of Juliet Marrillier, this book is magical and spellbinding. A very quick and immensely enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read the second installment.

I want to thank the publisher (Lakewater Press) for providing me with the ARC through Netgalley for an honest review.

 small ghostsmall ghostsmall ghostsmall ghostsmall ghost

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Infinite Text

Reading Journal

She Reads Reviews

Historical Fiction, YA, Fantasy, Contemporary, Literary, and Non-fiction Book Reviews

JJmachshev Book Reviews

No sugarcoating, what I really think about the books I read.

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

one reader talks

a blog of hobbies thoughts and feelings

Whimsical Owl Book Blog

Books. Food. Owls. Cats.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

The Opinionated Reader

I am as stubborn as it gets, but I'm a good soul...really...

Books of the Broken

The journey to creating a new world

Insights into Books

"I cannot live without books" -Thomas Jefferson

Touch My Spine Book Reviews

☆~A Down to Earth and Honest Book Blog from a Free-Spirited and Custom Bilbliophile~☆

ireadnovels

A fiction book review website. Reviews on advanced reading copies and published books.

Comma Hangover

Just a writer with a bit of a love for commas.

lit this & that!

a site for all things books and bookish book things

Infinite Text

Reading Journal

She Reads Reviews

Historical Fiction, YA, Fantasy, Contemporary, Literary, and Non-fiction Book Reviews

JJmachshev Book Reviews

No sugarcoating, what I really think about the books I read.

Naty's Bookshelf

Why socialize when you can read?

one reader talks

a blog of hobbies thoughts and feelings

Whimsical Owl Book Blog

Books. Food. Owls. Cats.

Navigating Worlds

A husband and wife adventuring through fantasy worlds together

The Opinionated Reader

I am as stubborn as it gets, but I'm a good soul...really...

Books of the Broken

The journey to creating a new world

Insights into Books

"I cannot live without books" -Thomas Jefferson

Touch My Spine Book Reviews

☆~A Down to Earth and Honest Book Blog from a Free-Spirited and Custom Bilbliophile~☆

ireadnovels

A fiction book review website. Reviews on advanced reading copies and published books.

Comma Hangover

Just a writer with a bit of a love for commas.

lit this & that!

a site for all things books and bookish book things

Written Word Worlds

Just one more chapter...

thrifty bibliophile

"With a dreamy far-off look, and her nose stuck in a book . . . "

TFaulc Book Reviews

Book Reviews, Different Genres.

The Cursed Books

stories are wild creatures.

simple to wow

simple kosher recipes, designs and inspirations to wow you

%d bloggers like this: